TMI Tag – Getting to know me a little bit better.

So it’s almost half 1 in the morning and I’m still not ready to go to bed (in my own opinion!).  I have therefore decided to start this blog properly with a TMI tag that I saw originally on my friend Hannah’s blog. You might find it interesting…you might not…but I thought it was a good thing to start with so you can get to know me better! Happy reading 🙂

What are you wearing?
In my pyjamas because I am sat in bed, feeling wide awake.

Have you ever been in love?
I thought I was once but I know now that I wasn’t – it was just a first crush thing and I got so swept up in the emotion of it all that when things didn’t go how I wanted them to, I was devastated and thought I would never get over it. Ever the melodramatic!

Have you ever had a terrible break-up?
Believe it or not but I’ve never been in a long term relationship so I’ve never been able to have a terrible break up.  I have dated people but I’m a very independent person so it’s never worked out with anyone thus far. I’m also a very determined person and know exactly where I want to go with my career so for me, that comes first and a relationship comes second.  If I do happen to meet someone in the very near future, then great but I’m not putting any pressure on myself.  I’m loving my life at the moment being single and seeing how hurt some of my friends have been recently from break ups makes me feel that at my age, relationships are a bit overrated.

How tall are you?
Five foot one and a bit which is fairly small but my mum is basically the same height as me, my dad is five foot seven which is short for a male (though he doesn’t like to be reminded of that – ha!) and the majority of my closest friends are no more than three or four inches taller than me so I’m never really aware of being a shortarse.

How much do you weigh?
Nine stone.  I used to be more but when I turned twenty I realised that I only have a few years left before being overweight will seriously affect my long-term health.  I therefore decided to go on a diet and although I’d tried it plenty of times in the past, this time I stuck to it religiously and I got to my goal in 9 months.  I continue to be incredibly proud of myself, although the student lifestyle (lots of drinking and stress related eating) means that I have to work that much more to keep it off.

Do you have any tattoos?
N0 – I have a phobia of them. Okay that sounds weird. It’s more linked to my mahoosive fear of needles but unless it is something tasteful, I hate to look at them, they give me the heeby jeebys (I think that’s how you would spell it!). I’ve already set out a rule for myself that I will never date someone with a tattoo because I wouldn’t be able to deal with it. I have been known to faint in public when walking past tattoo parlours and hearing the needles buzzing. I really really hate them!

Do you have any piercings?
Nope, I’m boring. I once wanted to get my ears pierced and was stood outside Claire’s Accessories ready to go in but then the girl before me in the queue screamed the place down when the gun went through her ear so that’s put me off for life.  My friends say it doesn’t hurt but a lot of time I forget to put my other jewellery on so I think it’s pretty pointless to get them done now to be honest because I would never remember to put anything in my ears.

What is your favourite TV show?
Oh god how much time have you got?! I am TV show addict, primarily American shows because I like the drama but there are some stunning British ones that I love to watch too.  Okay here’s “a few”: One Tree Hill (ultimate favourite of all time!), Friends, Sex And The City, Gossip Girl, 90210, Downton Abbey, Revenge, 2 Broke Girls, The Big Bang Theory, Glee, The Paradise (BBC), Mr Selfridge (ITV), Coronation Street (soap but I love it!)…..and the list goes on!

oth

Who are your favourite bands/singers?
I used to have one main group who I adored during my teenage years which was The Saturdays but I grew out of them by the time I left college and if I’m honest, I don’t think they’re as good as they used to be, they just seem to be copying everyone else! Now, I have lots of different favourites.  Generally, I’m a massive fan of people who can actually sing, rather than pretend to. I know I sound a bit pretentious saying that but I’m a singer and have trained since I was 8 so after 13 years of experience, I think I know what is good singing and what is not.  For example, I am NOT a fan of Miley Cyrus, Ellie Goulding, Diana Vickers et al because your voice IS NOT MEANT TO SOUND LIKE THAT.  But, I adore Jessie J because her range is just ridiculous, Little Mix because their harmonies are ALWAYS flawless, Bruno Mars because his voice sounds like liquid chocolate, Demi Lovato again because her voice is just ridiculous…and there are many others…

What is something you miss?
My family. I’ve been at university for ten weeks now and I’ve only seen my parents twice which is really hard considering I was able to see them at least once a month last year as I was on placement and based in London (much nearer to home). I am an only child and I don’t know if this is the main reason why but I’m incredibly incredibly close to my parents, they are my best friends and I wouldn’t be able to live without them so I cannot wait to go home for Christmas!

What is your favourite song?
That’s too difficult, I don’t like that question. I’m a musical theatre geek so I’m just going to say something from musical theatre.

How old are you?
21 years and 5 and a half months…to be specific! I’m a July baby!

Zodiac sign?
Cancer and I truly believe that I am my star sign through and through.  My mum has always been into astrology so I was brought up on it from an early age and for me, it explains a lot about myself and people who have passed through my life over the years.

Quality you look for in a partner?
Mature, nice to my friends, makes me laugh, someone who trusts me implicitly as I am independent, someone who my parents approve of because that means a lot to me…I could go on and on.

Favourite quote?
It’s going to sound a bit of a cliché but ‘Keep Calm And Carry On’.  I have it plastered all around me; on posters, on my phone case, on my bed covers, on my mug, on my cushion…bit excessive I know but since I came across that quote, my life has just seemed to fall into place so much more easily.

Favourite actor/actress?
Ok musical wise it has to be Sierra Boggess or Samantha Barks. Google them and you’ll understand why. Mainstream TV/cinema wise, it has to be Sophia Bush.  She is my idol and I adore her.

Favourite colour?
Hmmm don’t really have one. I like purple which is the colour of my room at home. I like to wear blue and green a lot because it compliments my hair colour and skin tone.

Loud or quiet music?
Depends really. If you walk into my room, chances are you’ll hear the soundtrack to Phantom of the Opera rather than pop songs that are in the charts. I turn those up loudly so I can sing along but otherwise I’m a quiet person.

Where do you go when you’re sad?
If I’m away from home, I don’t go anywhere, I just call my mum and talk to her about whatever is bothering me. If I am at home then I just go to wherever my mum is.

How long does it take you to shower?
If I’m not washing my hair, 10/15 minutes. If I am then I’d say more like half an hour. I have a lot of hair!

How long does it take you to get ready in the morning?
If I don’t wear make-up, twenty minutes. If I do, more like forty five.

Even been in a physical fight?
Nope. And don’t plan to be.

Turn on?
Erm, I haven’t ever really thought about it that much. I LOVE Irish accents and it is my aim in life to marry an Irish man as that would make me eternally happy. Apart from that, I’m not fazed.

Turn off?
Possessiveness, cockiness, being rude to my friends and family – if you do that, you’re out of here!

The reason you started blogging?
For this blog, because I wanted an outlet for my wondering thoughts which my other blog does not really allow me to do (unless it is about theatre!).

Fears?
Needles, injections, tattoos, death, losing members of my family, failing my degree, there’s probably more as I’m quite an anxious person.

Last thing that made you cry?
Performing Arts rehearsal last night because singing Bui Doi makes me well up – the Miss Saigon soundtrack is a killer.

Last time you said you loved someone?
That would be to my close friend Charlotte earlier today when I said bye to her as I left uni.  I see her every single day but I still like to say it because you never know what the future may bring!

Meaning behind your blog name?
I’m from Sussex, easy enough.

Last book you read?
Do academic books count?!

The book you’re currently reading?
Again, do academic books count?! I don’t have any time for reading as a hobby right now!

Last show you watched?
Coronation Street.

Last person you talked to?
One of my housemates, either Una or Beth, I don’t really know, I spoke to them all simultaneously.

The relationship between you and the last person you texted?
Again, Charlotte! As well as being very good friends, we do the same uni course so we are currently ranting to one another about all of our essays that are due in next week!

Favourite food?
Pizza, pasta, peanut butter – I’m not a fussy eater!

Place you want to visit?
A year ago today (well yesterday because it’s 2am), I was flying back from New York and I am desperate to go back now that I’m 21!

skyl

Last place you were?
Tesco doing the good old weekly shop.

Do you have a crush?
Maybe! But that one is a bit too personal so I won’t be telling you about it.

Last time you kissed someone?
I kiss my friends cheeks a lot so I’m going to say someone at some point today. Probably Jemma.

Last time you were insulted?
A couple of weeks ago but I was so irate, I’m not going to go into it. Rather just move on and leave the past in the past.

Favourite flavour of sweet?
Not bothered. Like chocolate though!

Do you play any instruments?
I used to play the keyboard but then I was a typical teenager and got bored of my lessons. I can still sight read though so I hope to one day start again.

Favourite piece of jewellery?
Don’t really have a specific one.

Last sport you played?
Does the gym count?! Because I haven’t played a ‘sport’ since school otherwise.

Last song you sang?
‘Another Suitcase In Another Hall’ which I am performing at our Performing Arts showcase next week! Ahh!

Favourite chat-up line?
I fortunately haven’t been on the end of any bad ones so I couldn’t say.

Have you ever used it?
N/A.

Last time you hung out with anyone?
Today with my uni friends and housemates.

Who should answer these questions next?
Who knows! I can’t remember how many of my other friends actually blog on a regular basis (not that I do!).

Leave a comment

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Girl From Sussex on WordPress.com