The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

The other night, myself and a couple of my closest friends took some time off from essay writing and went to see the latest edition in the Hunger Games series – Catching Fire. I didn’t see the first film in the cinema as I had read the book when I first heard about the hype and if I’m honest, I had not been that overly impressed with it so I didn’t want to spend money on something I felt would just be mediocre. I did eventually rent the film when it came out and I have to say, I was pretty happy that I didn’t pay to see it because it was disappointing and it got dragged out for far too long.

As a result of not really enjoying the first film, I did not bother to read any of the other books. I just thought it would be a bit like Twilight and be a crappy book series that was just being turned into a film franchise because producers couldn’t come up with new ideas of their own. How wrong was I!! Catching Fire has been out for a couple of weeks now here in the UK and ALL of my friends who had already seen it were raving about it – even the ones who themselves admitted that the first film was not great. I therefore decided that as I had not had a single chance to go to the cinema this semester, I would use Catching Fire as my excuse to go for the first time in almost 16 weeks.

Image

I don’t want to spoil the plot in any way for those who haven’t seen it but all I am going to say is IT IS BLOODY AMAZING. I now HAVE to read book two and three over Christmas or I may explode with not knowing what is going to happen in the next film. The acting is second to none, the direction is extraordinary, the cinematography is sublime, the CGI is faultless…I could go on and on but I don’t want to bore you. All I will say is GO SEE IT. And none of this would have been possible without Suzanne Collins who I must say must have an incredible brain, because to come up with a story like that, with so many different complexities that you can still understand, is just insane and you need to be crazy talented!

Bring on ‘Mockingjay’!!!

About meggymooloos

Hello everyone! I am a 22 year old Marketing graduate with a love for musical theatre. This blog isn't all about reviews; it's just for fun. I'm not a London drama student (I wish!) but I've been performing for over 14 years now so I think I have the experience to judge and discuss all the new & current shows out in our capital at the moment. Enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Girl From Sussex on WordPress.com
